Bilateral cooperation with France

As laid down in the Treaty of Aachen, in the Roadmap for a Research and Innovation Network on Artificial Intelligence, and in the Franco-German Dialogue on Technology, France and Germany are strengthening their collaboration in the field of artificial intelligence and 5G communication technologies.

The objective of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action and the French Ministère de l'Economie et des Finances et de la Relance is to bring new cooperation projects, especially new projects involving cooperation between research and industry. The joint projects will aim at developing precompetitive products and services and will select subjects which entail technological barriers but offer great economic potential in both countries.

A number of bilateral cooperation projects resulted from two joint calls “Franco-German innovation projects on artificial intelligence technologies for risk prevention, crisis management and resilience” and “Technical developments and application ecosystems for private 5G networks”. These Franco-German applied research collaborations will foster the creation of common AI as well as 5G ecosystems.

Franco-German cooperation in 5G private networks

The first four winning projects from the “5G campus networks” call started with the development of technical solutions for private 5G networks and with testing them in various applications.

Franco-German AI innovation projects

The five winning projects aim to apply artificial intelligence technologies for risk prevention, crisis management and resilience and test them in the application fields of health, economy and sustainability.

Bilaterale Kooperation mit Frankreich

Wie im Aachener Vertrag, in der Roadmap für ein Forschungs- und Innovationsnetzwerk zu Künstlicher Intelligenz und im Deutsch-Französischen Technologiedialog festgeschrieben, werden Frankreich und Deutschland ihre Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz und 5G-Kommunikationstechnologien verstärken.

Ziel des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) und des französischen Ministère de l'Economie et des Finances et de la Relance (MEFR) ist es, neue Kooperationsprojekte, insbesondere neue Innovationsprojekte zwischen Forschung und Industrie, zu fördern. Die Verbundprojekte zielen auf die Entwicklung vorwettbewerblicher Produkte und Dienstleistungen und wählen Themen aus, die technologische Barrieren mit sich bringen, aber in beiden Ländern ein großes wirtschaftliches Potenzial bieten.

Aus den beiden gemeinsamen Ausschreibungen „Deutsch-französische Innovationsprojekte zum Einsatz von Technologien der künstlichen Intelligenz für Risikovorsorge, Krisenmanagement und Resilienz“ und „Technische Entwicklungen und Anwendungsökosysteme für private 5G-Netze“ sind eine Reihe von bilateralen Kooperationsprojekten entstanden. Diese Kooperationen in der angewandten Forschung fördern die Schaffung gemeinsamer, deutsch-französischer KI- und 5G-Ökosysteme.

5G-Campusnetzwerke
(DE-FR)

Die ersten vier Gewinnerprojekte des Förderaufrufs sind mit der Entwicklung von technischen Lösungen für private 5G-Campusnetzwerke gestartet und testen diese in verschiedenen Anwendungen.

KI-Innovationsprojekte (DE-FR)

Die fünf Gewinnerprojekte des Förderaufrufs zielen auf die Anwendung von Technologien der Künstlichen Intelligenz für Risikovorsorge, Krisenmanagement und Resilienz und testen diese in den Anwendungsfeldern Gesundheit, Ökonomie und Nachhaltigkeit.