Franco-German innovation projects for private 5G networks

Call for proposals opening 20 May 2021 based on the funding framework "Development of Digital Technologies"

Submission completed. More information will follow.

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), together with the French Ministère de l'Economie et des Finances et de la Relance (MEFR), plans to fund bilateral innovation projects on the topic of "Technical developments and application ecosystems for private 5G networks".

Communication networks (5G and in future 6G) are an important basis for further digitalisation in the economy. Smart factories, mobile robotics or connected vehicles generate large amounts of data that can be transmitted and processed securely and robustly in real time on the basis of 5G. Ever since 2020, different frequency ranges for private local 5G networks ("campus networks") can also be applied for from the Federal Network Agency (BNetzA). For the flexible design of campus networks, further innovations are needed in the area of virtualisation of 5G subsystems and components as well as their interoperability via open interfaces.

Germany wants to take a leading role as a technology provider in the communication technologies 5G and, in the future, 6G. This call for funding is being initiated by the German side as part of the Economic Stimulus Package, Article 45. Through these funding initiatives, the German government is improving the market entry for innovative network technology and promoting the rapid development and implementation of open standards in Germany and on a European level.

France and Germany have agreed to strengthen their cooperation in the field of 5G communication technologies. The aim of this call is to create Franco-German ecosystems whose developments and collaborations will help lower market entry barriers in Europe and open up the 5G communications market to new providers of industry-specific solutions for private 5G networks from France and Germany.

The call is complementary to the already launched German call for 5G campus networks (Digitale Technologien - Campusnetzwerke) and comparable funding activities in France. The Franco-German innovation projects should use synergies with the national funding activities in both countries and contribute to a cross-border transfer of development results and flexibly deployable 5G components.

This funding is targeted at:

  • A "Main project" to build an ecosystem for private 5G networks based on open or virtualised components
  • Up to six "demonstration projects" to test the technologies in concrete application areas and to test them in practice. We are looking for application scenarios from the areas of: Industry 4.0, logistics, healthcare and other economically or socially relevant application areas.

A close exchange between the core project and demonstration projects is paramount.

Possible funding is based on the funding framework „Development of Digital Technologies“, whose framework regulations apply. Funding is subject to the availability of corresponding budget funds.

The application procedure is single-stage (direct full application). Interested parties who submit an expression of interest (see below) by 15.06.2021 will be invited to an information and matchmaking event.

Contact in Germany:
For scientific questions:
Dr. André Bergmann
DLR Project Management Agency
Mail: int-kooperationsprojekte-pt@dlr.de
Phone: +49 30 67055-8297

For administrative questions:
Jörg Reichenbächer
DLR Project Management Agency
Mail: int-kooperationsprojekte-pt@dlr.de
Phone: +49 228 3821-2402

SCHEDULE:
• Publication of the call: 20.05.2021
• Deadline for expression of interest (voluntary): Until 15.06.2021
• Matchmaking event: 21.06.2021, 3.00 pm
• Application workshop: 22.06.2021, 2.00 pm
• Deadline for submission of project applications: 01.09.2021
• Pre-selection of project applications: 17.09.2021
• Hearing of the projects: 24.9.2021, 9.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.
• Approval of winning project applications: December 2021

Project start: January 2022

Deutsch-französische Innovationsprojekte für private 5G-Netzwerke

Förderaufruf vom 20. Mai 2021 auf Grundlage des Förderrahmens „Entwicklung digitaler Technologien“

Einreichungsende: 1. September 2021, 12:00 Uhr

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) plant gemeinsam mit dem französischen Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances et de la Relance (MEFR) die Förderung von bilateralen Innovationsprojekten zum Thema „Technische Entwicklungen und Anwendungsökosysteme für private 5G-Netze“.

Kommunikationsnetze (5G und zukünftig 6G) sind eine wichtige Grundlage für die weitere Digitalisierung in der Wirtschaft. Intelligente Fabriken, mobile Robotik oder vernetzte Fahrzeuge generieren große Datenmengen, die auf der Basis von 5G sicher und robust in Echtzeit übertragen und verarbeitet werden können. Seit dem vergangenen Jahr 2020 können bei der Bundesnetzagentur (BNetzA) auch für private lokale 5G-Netze („Campusnetze“) unterschiedliche Frequenzbereiche beantragt werden. Zur flexiblen Ausgestaltung der Campusnetze sind weitere Innovationen im Bereich der Virtualisierung von 5G-Subsystemen und Komponenten sowie deren Interoperabilität über offene Schnittstellen notwendig.

Deutschland will eine führende Rolle als Technologieanbieter bei den Kommunikationstechnologien 5G und zukünftig 6G einnehmen. Dieser Förderaufruf erfolgt von deutscher Seite im Rahmen des Konjunkturpakets, Artikel 45. Über die Maßnahmen erleichtert die Bundesregierung den Markteintritt für innovative Netztechnologien und fördert die schnelle Entwicklung und Umsetzung offener Standards in Deutschland und auf europäischer Ebene.
Frankreich und Deutschland haben vereinbart, ihre Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der 5GKommunikationstechnologien zu verstärken. Ziel dieser Ausschreibung ist es, deutsch-französische Ökosysteme zu schaffen, deren Entwicklungen und Kooperationen dazu beitragen, die Markteintrittsbarrieren in Europa zu senken und den 5G-Kommunikationsmarkt für neue Anbieter von branchenspezifischen Lösungen für private 5G-Netze aus Frankreich und Deutschland zu öffnen.

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt komplementär zu der bereits gestarteten deutschen Ausschreibung für 5G-Campusnetze (Digitale Technologien - Campusnetzwerke) und vergleichbaren Förderaktivitäten in Frankreich. Die deutsch-französischen Innovationsprojekte sollen Synergien zu den nationalen Förderaktivitäten in beiden Ländern nutzen und zu einem länderübergreifenden Transfer von Entwicklungsergebnissen und flexibel einsetzbaren 5G-Komponenten beitragen.

Hierzu adressiert dieser Förderaufruf:

  • Ein Kernprojekt (« Main project ») zum Aufbau eines Ökosystems für private 5G-Netze auf der Basis offener bzw. virtualisierter Komponenten.
  • Bis zu sechs « Demonstrationsprojekte », um die Technologien in konkreten Anwendungsbereichen zu testen und in der Praxis zu erproben. Gesucht werden Anwendungsszenarien aus den Bereichen: Industrie 4.0, Logistik, Gesundheitswesen sowie weiteren wirtschaftlich oder gesellschaftlich relevanten Anwendungsbereichen.

Ein enger Austausch zwischen Kernprojekt und Demonstrationsprojekten wird angestrebt.

Eine mögliche Förderung erfolgt auf Grundlage des Förderrahmens „Entwicklung digitaler Technologien“, dessen Rahmenregelungen gelten. Die Förderung erfolgt vorbehaltlich der Verfügbarkeit entsprechender Haushaltsmittel.

Das Antragsverfahren ist einstufig (unmittelbarer Vollantrag). Interessenten, die bis zum 15.06.2021 eine Interessensbekundung („Expression of Interest“, s. u.) abgeben, werden zu einer Informations- und Matchmaking-Veranstaltung eingeladen.

Ansprechpartner (für Antragsteller aus Deutschland):
Bei wissenschaftlichen Fragen:
Dr. André Bergmann
DLR Projektträger
Tel. +49 30 67055-8297
E-Mail: int-kooperationsprojekte-pt@dlr.de

Bei administrativen Fragen:
Jörg Reichenbächer
DLR Projektträger
E-Mail: int-kooperationsprojekte-pt@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 228 3821-2402

Termine
• Veröffentlichung der Ausschreibung: 20.5.2021
• Einreichung der Interessensbekundung: 15.6.2021 (verlängert)
• Matchmaking-Event: 21.6.2021 ab 15:00 Uhr
• Antragswerkstatt: 22.6.2021 ab 14:00 Uhr
• Abgabe der Projektanträge: 1.9.2021
• Auswahl der Projekte: 17.9.2021
• Bewilligung der Projekte: Dezember 2021
• Projektlaufzeiten: Januar 2022 - Dezember 2024