Bilateral cooperation with Austria

between the German BMWi and the Austrian BMK

For about two years, there has been cooperation between the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) with its funding framework "Development of Digital Technologies" and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK) and its programme "ICT of the Future". There are joint projects by German-Austrian consortia in four funding priorities.

Both ministries have agreed on the common goal of intensifying cooperation between the research and development projects of the respective technology funding programmes. Austrian and German companies as well as research institutions can complement each other in their respective profiles and jointly create attractive solutions in the pre-competitive area, also in the direction of the digital European single market.


Smart Data Economy

In the area of data economy, there are good opportunities for the joint development of German-Austrian solutions. Both ministries have implemented cooperative project funding for this purpose. The funding calls "Smart Data Economy - Artificial Intelligence, Semantics, Sovereignty" from Germany and "Smart Data Economy AT/DE 2018 - AI-based Data Products" from Austria enabled cooperative research and development projects. In 2019, the following cooperative projects have been launched for this purpose:

Field of application

Joint project

Contact

Construction industryBIMcontracts - „Automated payment and contract management in construction using distributed ledger technology and BIM-5D"Angela.Carell@adesso.de;
k@auto.tuwien.ac.at
Automotive industryCampaNeo - „Platform for real-time vehicle data campaigns"timo.graen@volkswagen.de;
anna.fensel@sti2.at
Production and
Process industry
ExDRa - „Exploratory Data Science over Raw Data“claus.neubauer@siemens.com;
m.boehm@tugraz.at
Business AdministrationFuture Data Assets - „Intelligent data accounting to determine the entrepreneurial data capital"T.Froese@atlan-tec.com;
marian.lux@swisdata.com
Production and
Supply Chain Management
PLASS - „Platform for Analytical Supply Chain Management Services"bernt.andrassy@siemens.com;
mihai.lupu@researchstudio.at
Health ManagementTelemed5000 - „Development of an intelligent system for telemedical co-care of large collectives of cardiological risk patients"sandra.prescher@charite.de;
peter.kastner@ait.ac.at

ICT of the future - AI platforms

Parallel to the BMWi's innovation competition "Artificial Intelligence as a Driver for Economically Relevant Ecosystems", the Austrian call for proposals "ICT of the Future - AI Platforms" was held. Four Austrian submissions qualified for funding in cooperation with a project from the AI Innovation Competition. Through these cooperations, cross-border cooperation in the field of artificial intelligence is being further promoted. The following cooperations have been established:

Field of applicationJoint project
Health Management EMPAIA - EcosysteM for Pathology diagnostics with AI Assistance
TradeKnowledge4Retail 
Health ManagementKI-SIGS - Artificial Intelligence Space for Intelligent Health Systems
Health ManagementAIQNET - Medical Data Ecosystem  

ICT of the future

As part of Austria's national ICT funding programme "ICT of the Future", the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Arts and Culture invited tenders for projects in April 2020, whereby the participation of German partners was a prerequisite for funding. The aim of the call was to strengthen cooperation between Austrian and German project partners in topics such as the complexity of ICT solutions, secure systems, intelligent systems and interoperability.
This resulted in the following three cooperation projects, which started in spring 2021.

Field of applicationJoint project
Traffic safety D-TRAS
DisassemblySmartDIS
Sensor technologyCARNIVAL


Production of the future

A joint German-Austrian call for proposals "Smart and Sovereign Use of Data for Production" by the German BMWi and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) for the funding of a lead project ran until 20.8.2020. The aim of the cooperation is to increase flexibility and efficiency in production by processing production-relevant data. In particular, the lead project should also illustrate the technological and economic benefits of the open GAIA-X platform.
As the winner of the competition, the EuProGigant project with a German-Austrian consortium started on 1 March 2021.

Field of applicationJoint project
Production EuProGigant

Bilaterale Kooperation mit Österreich

zwischen dem deutschen BMWi und dem österreichischen BMK

Seit rund zwei Jahren besteht eine Kooperation zwischen dem Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) mit dem Förderrahmen "Entwicklung Digitaler Technologien" und dem österreichischen Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (BMK) und seinem Programm „IKT der Zukunft“. Es bestehen gemeinsame Projekte von deutsch-österreichischen Konsortien in vier Förderschwerpunkten.

Beide Ministerien haben sich auf das gemeinsame Ziel verständigt, die Kooperation zwischen den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten der jeweiligen Technologieförderung zu intensivieren. Österreichische und deutsche Unternehmen sowie Forschungseinrichtungen können sich in ihren jeweiligen Profilen ergänzen und gemeinsam, auch in Richtung des digitalen europäischen Binnenmarktes, attraktive Lösungen im vorwettbewerblichen Bereich schaffen.


Smarte Datenwirtschaft

Im Bereich der Datenökonomie liegen gute Chancen für eine gemeinsame Entwicklung deutsch-österreichischer Lösungen. Beide Ministerien haben eine kooperative Projektförderung dazu umgesetzt. Die Förderaufrufe „Smarte Datenwirtschaft – Künstliche Intelligenz, Semantik, Souveränität“ aus Deutschland und „Smarte Datenwirtschaft AT/DE 2018 - KI-basierte Datenprodukte“ aus Österreich ermöglichten kooperative Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte. Im Jahr 2019 sind dazu folgende Kooperationsprojekte gestartet:

Anwendungsfeld

Verbundprojekt

Ansprechpartner

BauwirtschaftBIMcontracts - „Automatisiertes Zahlungs- und Vertragsmanagement im Bauwesen mittels Distributed Ledger Technologie und BIM-5D“Angela.Carell@adesso.de;
k@auto.tuwien.ac.at
AutomobilindustrieCampaNeo - „Plattform für Echtzeit Fahrzeugdaten Kampagnen“timo.graen@volkswagen.de;
anna.fensel@sti2.at
Produktion und
Prozessindustrie
ExDRa - „Exploratory Data Science over Raw Data“claus.neubauer@siemens.com;
m.boehm@tugraz.at
BetriebswirtschaftFuture Data Assets - „Intelligente Datenbilanzierung zur Ermittlung des unternehmerischen Datenkapitals“T.Froese@atlan-tec.com;
marian.lux@swisdata.com
Produktion und
Lieferkettenmanagement
PLASS - „Plattform für Analytische Supply Chain Management Services“bernt.andrassy@siemens.com;
mihai.lupu@researchstudio.at
GesundheitswirtschaftTelemed5000 - „Entwicklung eines intelligenten Systems zur telemedizinischen Mitbetreuung von großen Kollektiven kardiologischer Risikopatienten“sandra.prescher@charite.de;
peter.kastner@ait.ac.at


IKT der Zukunft - KI-Plattformen

Parallel zum Innovationswettbewerb „Künstliche Intelligenz als Treiber für volkswirtschaftlich relevante Ökosysteme“ des BMWi wurde die österreichische Ausschreibung "IKT der Zukunft - KI-Plattformen" durchgeführt. Vier österreichische Einreichungen konnten sich für die Förderung in Kooperation mit einem Projekt des KI-Innovationswettbewerbs qualifizieren. Durch diese Kooperationen wird grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit im Bereich künstlicher Intelligenz weiter vorangetrieben. So sind folgende Kooperationen entstanden:

AnwendungsfeldVerbundprojekt
Gesundheitswirtschaft EMPAIA - EcosysteM for Pathology diagnostics with AI Assistance
HandelKnowledge4Retail 
GesundheitswirtschaftKI-SIGS - Künstliche Intelligenz-Space für intelligente Gesundheitssysteme 
GesundheitswirtschaftAIQNET - Medical Data Ecosystem  


IKT der Zukunft

Als Teil des nationalen IKT-Förderprogramms Österreichs „IKT der Zukunft“ hatte das österreichische BMK im April 2020 Projekte ausgeschrieben, wobei die Beteiligung deutscher Partner Voraussetzung für eine Förderung darstellte. Ziel der Ausschreibung war die verstärkte Zusammenarbeit zwischen österreichischen und deutschen Projektpartnern in Themenfeldern wie Komplexität von IKT-Lösungen, Sichere Systeme, Intelligente Systeme und Interoperabilität.
So sind die folgenden drei Kooperationsprojekte entstanden, die im Frühjahr 2021 begonnen haben.

AnwendungsfeldVerbundprojekt
Verkehrssicherheit D-TRAS
DemontageSmartDIS
SensortechnologieCARNIVAL


Produktion der Zukunft

Eine gemeinsame Ausschreibung des BMWi und der österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgemeinschaft FFG "Smarte und souveräne Nutzung von Daten für die Produktion“ für die Förderung eines Leitprojekts lief bis zum 20.8.2020. Ziel der Kooperation ist die Erhöhung der Flexibilität und Effizienz in der Produktion durch die Verarbeitung von produktionsrelevanten Daten. Das Leitprojekt soll insbesondere auch den technologischen und ökonomischen Nutzen der offenen Plattform GAIA-X verdeutlichen.
Als Sieger des Wettbewerbs ist das Projekt EuProGigant mit einem deutsch-österreichischen Konsortium zum 1. März 2021 gestartet.

AnwendungsfeldVerbundprojekt
Produktion EuProGigant