Edge data economy

Call for funding dated February 10, 2022 is based on the funding framework "Development of digital technologies"

The submission deadline has expired. Further information will follow in autumn 2022 at the start of the selected lighthouse projects.

Edge computing enables data collection and processing, and thus the creation of value, close to the place where the data is generated. The development and testing of innovative data science technologies for edge computing applications is therefore the focus of this funding call. The aim is for projects to demonstrate the benefits and advantages of edge computing solutions, particularly in economic and ecological terms, in various application domains.

The aim of the funding call is to promote the development and testing of edge computing software and the balancing of edge and cloud data spaces as a basis for sovereign data exchange and use. The funded projects are intended to contribute to the transfer of state-of-the-art data science technology, especially to small and medium-sized enterprises. The results of the funded projects and the technology programme as a whole should form starting points for the creation of innovative, data-based solutions and business models and also provide a cross-sectoral impact through spill-over effects.

In particular, the projects should also take into account the potential of digitalisation for climate and environmental protection. Therefore, the projects funded under this technology programme should use sustainable data science technologies and develop sustainability-oriented business models. In addition, the focus should be on avoiding rebound effects.

Contact persons:

For content-related, technical questions:
Dr. Regine Gernert
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 30 67055-764

Barbara Schmitz
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 228 3821-2346

For administrative questions:
Aljoscha Nicolai
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 228 3821-2307

For general, organizational questions:
Peggi Kopbauer
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 30 67055-721

Dates:
4.3.2022, 10:00 a.m.: Information and networking event (link to registration)
25.3.2022, 12:00: Deadline for sketch submission.
The submission deadline is a cut-off deadline!
29.04./02.05.2022: Expert meeting
02.05.2022: Call for applications
until 01.07.2022: Receipt of applications

Project duration:
October 2022 - September 2025

Edge Datenwirtschaft

Förderaufruf vom 10. Februar 2022 auf Grundlage des Förderrahmens „Entwicklung digitaler Technologien“

Die Einreichungsfrist ist abgelaufen. Weitere Informationen folgen im Herbst 2022 zum Projektstart der ausgewählten Leuchtturmprojekte.

Edge Computing ermöglicht die Datensammlung und -verarbeitung und damit verbunden die Wertschöpfung in der Nähe des Ortes, an dem die Daten generiert werden. Die Erschließung und Erprobung innovativer Data Science Technologien für Edge Computing-Anwendungen steht deshalb im Fokus dieses Förderaufrufs. Angestrebt werden Projekte, in denen der Nutzen und die Vorteile von Edge Computing-Lösungen insbesondere in ökonomischer und auch ökologischer Hinsicht in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsdomänen aufgezeigt werden.

Ziel des Förderaufrufs ist es, die Entwicklung und Erprobung von Edge Computing-Software und die Ausbalancierung von Edge- und Cloud-Datenräumen als Grundlage zum souveränen Datenaustausch und -nutzung zu forcieren. Die geförderten Projekte sollen zum Transfer modernster Data Science Technologie vor allem in die mittelständische Wirtschaft beitragen. Die Ergebnisse der geförderten Projekte und des Technologieprogramms insgesamt sollen Ausgangspunkte für die Schaffung innovativer, datenbasierter Lösungen und Geschäftsmodelle bilden und durch Spill-over Effekte auch branchenübergreifend Wirkung entfalten.

Berücksichtigt werden sollen in den Projekten insbesondere auch die Potenziale der Digitalisierung für den Klima- und Umweltschutz. Daher sollen die im Rahmen des vorliegenden Technologieprogramms geförderten Projekte nachhaltige Data Science Technologien nutzen und auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtete Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln. Zudem soll ein Fokus auf der Vermeidung von Rebound-Effekten liegen.

Ansprechpartner:

Bei inhaltlichen, fachlichen Fragen:
Frau Dr. Regine Gernert
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 30 67055-764

Frau Barbara Schmitz
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 228 3821-2346

Bei administrativen Fragen:
Herr Aljoscha Nicolai
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 228 3821-2307

Bei allgemeinen, organisatorischen Fragen:
Peggi Kopbauer
E-Mail: pt-foerderaufrufe@dlr.de
Tel.: +49 30 67055-721

Termine:
4.3.2022, 10:00 Uhr: Veranstaltung zur Information und Vernetzung (Link zur Anmeldung)
25.3.2022, 12:00 Uhr: Einsendeschluss für Skizzeneinreichung.
Die Einreichungsfrist gilt als Ausschlussfrist!
29.04./02.05.2022: Gutachtersitzung
02.05.2022: Aufforderung zur Antragstellung
bis 01.07.2022: Antragseingang

Projektlaufzeiten:
Oktober 2022 - September 2025