Smart Data accompanying research

The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) has set up an accompanying research project for the "Smart Data – Innovationen aus Daten" (Smart Data – Data Innovation) technology programme. Accompanying research supports the projects of the technology programme in their most effective implementation possible. Accompanying research serves to network the indivdual research projects and ensures the comprehensive transfer of valid results to the market. To these ends, accompanying research performs the following individual measures:

Accompanying research provides systematic, continuous and project-spanning monitoring for Big Data technologies and their commercial use in industry, the energy sector or mobility projects. The projects supported are additionally provided with consultancy support in order to facilitate the efficient and successful pursuit of the project aims.

Accompanying research initiates, organises and moderates working groups on various cross-sectional issues which concern all the projects supported and addresses the subject of developing Smart Data technologies, such as issues of data protection, data security, acceptance or new business models.

Accompanying research builds, strengthens and promotes networks for the project-spanning co-ordination and promotion of quick and targeted knowledge transfer. Core elements are the www.smart-data-programm.de website and an internal co-operation platform. Accompanying research also organises numerous events, such as conferences and specialist workshops. It also attends relevant trade shows and promotes networking with associations and other initiatives.

In order to boost the general economic effects of the support initiatives, accompanying research ensures the communication of results through numerous PR and technology transfer measures which have a broad impact. This primarily includes target-group specific transfer measures, the preparation of publications, such as brochures, flyers, fact sheets, newsletters as well as publication of scientific studies, papers and articles.

Finally, accompanying research initiates measures designed to secure the sustainability of the central research aspect. This is achieved by developing concepts for maintaining and expanding the networks established between the stakeholders during the term of the project and after.

FZI – Research Center for Information Technology as the consortium leader is generally responsible for accompanying research. FZI's networking efforts are supported by the German Informatics Society [Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI)] whilst LoeschHundLiepold Kommunikation (LHLK) provides support for the transfer of technology and results.

Smart Data Begleitforschung

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) hat zum Technologieprogramm "Smart Data – Innovationen aus Daten" eine Begleitforschung eingerichtet. Die Begleitforschung unterstützt die Förderprojekte des Technologieprogramms bei der möglichst effizienten Umsetzung ihrer Vorhaben. Sie vernetzt die einzelnen Förderprojekte untereinander und gewährleistet einen breiten Transfer valider Ergebnisse in den Markt. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen führt die Begleitforschung verschiedene Einzelmaßnahmen durch:

Die Begleitforschung betreibt ein systematisches, kontinuierliches und projektübergreifendes Monitoring zu Big-Data-Technologien und deren wirtschaftlicher Nutzung in der Industrie, im Energiebereich oder in Mobilitätsprojekten. Die Förderprojekte erfahren zudem eine beratende Unterstützung durch die Begleitforschung. Hierdurch soll eine effiziente und erfolgreiche Verfolgung der Projektziele gefördert werden.

Die Begleitforschung initiiert, organisiert und moderiert Arbeitsgruppen zu verschiedenen Querschnittsthemen, die alle Förderprojekte betreffen und das Themenfeld der Entwicklung von Smart-Data-Technologien adressiert, wie beispielsweise Fragen des Datenschutzes, der Datensicherheit, der Akzeptanz oder neuer Geschäftsmodelle.

Es werden durch die Begleitforschung Netzwerke zur projektübergreifenden Abstimmung und zur Förderung des schnellen und zielgerichteten Wissenstransfers aufgebaut, gestärkt und gefördert. Kernelemente hierfür sind die Website www.smart-data-programm.de sowie eine interne Kooperationsplattform. Weiterhin führt die Begleitforschung zahlreiche Veranstaltungen, wie Kongresse und Fach-Workshops durch. Sie beteiligt sich weiterhin an einschlägigen Messen und fördert die Vernetzung mit Verbänden und anderen Initiativen.

Um die gesamtwirtschaftlichen Effekte der Förderinitiativen zu verstärken, sorgt die Begleitforschung für eine breitenwirksame Kommunikation der Ergebnisse durch zahlreiche Maßnahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und des Technologietransfers. Hierzu zählen insbesondere zielgruppenspezifische Transfermaßnahmen, die Erstellung von Publikationen wie Broschüren, Flyer, Fact-Sheets, Newsletters sowie die Veröffentlichung von wissenschaftlichen Studien, Vorträgen und Artikeln.

Schließlich leitet die Begleitforschung Maßnahmen ein, um die Nachhaltigkeit des Förderschwerpunktes zu sichern. Hierzu werden Konzepte erarbeitet, wie die während der Projektlaufzeit etablierten Vernetzungen zwischen den Akteuren auch nach Ablauf der Förderungsphase erhalten und weiter entwickelt werden können.

Die maßgebliche Verantwortlichkeit für die Begleitforschung liegt beim Konsortialführer FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik. Unterstützt wird das FZI bei der Vernetzung durch die Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI) und beim Technologie- und Ergebnistransfer durch LoeschHundLiepold Kommunikation (LHLK).